WCBD-TV: News, Weather, and Sports for Charleston, SC

From our News Partners at WCBD-TV:

After keeping a commanding lead throughout Tuesday night, Councilwoman Linda Page was elected as Mayor of Mount Pleasant.

Throughout the night, Page's lead never dropped below 50 percent of the vote. Page faced four other candidates vying for the spot: Joe Bustos, Ken Glasson, George Freeman and Carl Carroll.  She had slightly more than 6,200 votes. Bustos was second with close to 2,100 votes.

As she thanked voters, Page talked about the importance of keeping the town of Mount Pleasant unified. She promised all in the community that she will continue to be an accessible leader. During her victory speech, her supporters cheered loudly with support.

When asked by News 2 what her first order of business will be, Page talked about making it easier for business owners to come to Mount Pleasant. She also talked about the importance of working with the Charleston County School board to improve schools in the area.

Page is the second woman elected as Mayor in recent years. Cheryl Woods-Flowers was elected in 1992 and served as Mayor until 2002.

Outgoing Mayor Billy Swails was also seen at the watch party Tuesday night. He was seen congratulating Page on her win.

Elton Carrier, Paul Gawyrch, Mark Smith and Gary Santos were also elected to the Mount Pleasant Town Council.

Former Councilman John Burn will join Rick Crosby on the Waterworks Commission.  Crosby had the highest number of votes in that race.

Image courtesy of WCBD-TV.