Stratford's Stackley, Berkeley's Brown elected to SC Coaches Hall of Fame


Former Berkeley head coach Dr. Jerry Brown and former Stratford head coach Ray Stackley are among 10 inductees in the South Carolina Football Coaches Hall of Fame Class of 2018 the organization announced Tuesday night. 

The duo is part of the 5th induction class into this Hall of Fame. 

Brown, who's still an active coach in the state currently at Wade Hampton, is in the middle of his 32nd year as a head coach. Over that time he's won 267 games at five different schools, been named the state's Coach of the Year five times and won five state championships. But it was at Berkeley where he had his greatest success, leading the Stags to three state titles in 1994, 1996 and 2009. 

Stackley coached at Stratford for 29 years winning 270 games (an average of more than 9 per season). He won a state title with the Knights in 1999 and made the state finals 2 more times. He also won 18 region championships and coached two Mr. Football Award winners. The field at Bonds Stadium at Stratford bares his name. 

South Carolina Football Coaches Hall of Fame – 2018 Class

Jerry Brown:           Spring Valley, Fairfield Central, Berkeley, Batesburg-Leesville, Spring Valley, Wade Hampton (H)          

Head Coach for 32 years and still coaching

            Won 267 games

            Won five State Championships at three different schools – Spring Valley 1988;

                        Berkeley 1994, 1996, 2009; Batesburg-Leesville 2013

            State Coach of the Year five times

Willis Burkett:       Greenwood and Chesnee

Head Coach for 22 years and still coaching (coached for 48 years with 26 years as an                   assistant)

            Won over 160 games

Won State Championship in 1976 - Greenwood

Bill Carr:                   Liberty, Easley, Spartanburg   1950-1980

31 years as a head coach

            Won 242 games

            National Coach of the Year 1978

            Elected Mayor of Easley 1983 – 1999

David Gutshall:      Madison Mayodan, N.C.; Kinston, N.C.; Burlington Cummings, N.C.;Dorman (Spartanburg) 1978 – present

40 years as a head coach

            Won 385 games

            Won five state championships – 3 in N.C. and 2 at Dorman

            Played in 11 State Championship Games.

            Averaging winning 9.6 games a year

Chuck Jordan:         Conway 1983 – 2017

34 years as a head coach

            Won 278 games

            Won 11 Region Championships

            Teams played in four state championship games

Chris Miller:                        Broome, Byrnes, Spartanburg  1992 – Present

17 as a head coach

            Won 162 games

            Won five State Championships – Byrnes 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and Spartanburg 2014

            Team has been nationally ranked 8 times

Ray Stackley:          Stratford

29 years as a head coach

            Won 270 games (averaged 9.3 win a season)

            Stratford Football Stadium named “Ray Stackley Field” in 2006

            State Champions in 1999, Runner-Up in 2004 and 2013

Al Usher:      Central (Pageland) 1976-2003

27 years as a head coach

            Won 261 games

            Won two State Championships - 1989 & 1997

            Won six Upper State Titles

Mike Ware:             Newberry  1971 – 1986

16 years as a head coach

            Won 90 games

            Newberry High Football Field named “Mike Ware Field” in 1994

            Has been the only Secretary/Treasurer of the S.C. Football Coaches Association

James E. “Weepy” Welch:          Kingstree, St. John’s in Darlington  1939 – 1972

34 years as a head coach

            Won 208 Games

            In 1993 was honored by the City of Darlington with the Key to the City

            In 1993 Darlington Schools named the football stadium in Williamson Athletic Field

                        the James E. Welch Stadium

            Helped form the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Association (SCACA) in 1948      

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content