President Trump declares state of disaster in SC


President Donald Trump has approved South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster's request and declared a state of disaster in South Carolina.

This opens the door for federal reimbursement of funds through FEMA for costs associated with Hurricane Florence. The counties included in the disaster declaration include Berkeley, Charleston Dorchester, Georgetown, Orangeburg and Williamsburg counties. 

Through the public assistance grants available through FEMA, the state can be given money for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement and restoration of disaster-damaged publicly-owned facilities. 

Copyright 2018 WCSC. All rights reserved.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content